Sven Göran Svennis Eriksson takes over Notts County on a 5 year deal

Posted on July 22, 2009. Filed under: Soccer | Tags: , , , |

Sven-Göran Eriksson said he faced the biggest challenge of his footballing life when he was unveiled as the director of football at Notts County today.

1982-83 Notts County v Spurs

The former England manager said he was determined to revive the fortunes of the world’s oldest professional league club by leading them back to the top flight. Eriksson, who has agreed a five-year contract at Meadow Lane, confirmed the position would be full-time and that he would be moving to Nottingham in the coming weeks.

“It’s great to come back to England. The weather is the same as usual,” he said. “I always said I wanted to come back to the Premier League. I chose a little bit of a difficult way to do it. It will take a few years, but I think we will do it.

“It’s the biggest football challenge of my life, trying to take Notts County back to the Premier League, but that’s the target. The challenge is perhaps the most difficult football job I’ve had so far. But I am looking forward to it.”

//

Times Archive

Eriksson did admit that he had expressed reservations about the post when he was first contacted by Notts County a fortnight ago, but was convinced by the vision of the club’s new Middle Eastern owners. He denied his decison had been motivated by money.

“When my agent asked me if I would be interested in Notts County I said I am not sure about that, but after listening to the people and seeing the project that they had I said ‘yes’.

“I’m not here for money, I am here for the challenge,” he added. “I signed a contract first of all. Secondly, if it was for the money I could have easily gone elsewhere for much, much more money.

“I’m not here for the weather, or if the city is nice or not. If that was the case then I could have gone to Italy. I’m here for the big challenge and that’s the truth.”

Eriksson, whose key responsibilities include building a scouting network and setting up overseas links, will work alongside manager Ian McParland and said it was important to recruit players of the necessary quality in order to secure promotion.

“We have together to try to find good players if we want to leave League Two. We have to have good football players. Without good football players you can’t reach the League One or the Championship.”

Despite being taken over by Munto Finance, a Middle Eastern group, Eriksson said the club would be sensible with their money.

“When this news came out my phone was hot all the time. People all over the place are asking how much we can pay for players. You can’t pay Premier League salaries to players in League Two. We all know that we have to be sensible.

read more here at the best online news The Times

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Sven Göran Svennis Eriksson takes over Notts County on a 5 year deal”

RSS Feed for Live Sports and Entertainment Comments RSS Feed

[…] Read the original:  Sven Göran Svennis Eriksson takes over Notts County upon the 5 year deal […]


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

